Training is an event. Learning is a process

During my recent participation in a Linkedin group discussion, Ryan McVay, Principal at Delivering Learning Solutions shared the following comments that I feel are useful to anyone who is involved in the training and development of employees within their organization.

Training is an event.
Learning is a process.

Learning is about association in the brain. The more associations (neural links) the brain makes the quicker the recall. That is why stories “stick”. It’s not because you are storing the new story. It’s because you have associated (linked) with something that is already stored in your long-term memory. Which in turn, makes it easier for the brain to recall and helps move the learning element from short-term memory to long-term memory?

You also have to remember that “quality” presentations are not created using the templates from PowerPoint. If you are starting with one of those you are starting down the wrong path. Quality presentations reach out to audiences with a simple picture and maybe 1-5 words on the slide. There’s a reason for this- images are stored on one side of the brain and the words are stored on the other. You then build an association between the two slide elements stored on each side of the brain. (Two spots are better than one!)

The fewer the words the fewer the routes, the fewer the routes, the more “practice”-because you only have one way to the data. The interesting thing about this is that you have two points to make the connection- the visual and the text. It doesn’t matter which one you start with as long as you can make the connection. This is why the bulleted PowerPoint slides don’t work for training- too many words, too many routes. That’s why all images slides don’t work either. Keep it simple, keep it clean.

Like Ryan, I endorse this theory and style of training and I challenge anyone using busy PPT’s to work towards stripping away the heavy text content and look for the positive effect it has on your audience of learners.

Image

About Richard Scudder

I possess a passion to see others succeed in sales. After 25 years of sales and sales management it is with confidence I say “it is direction, not perfection” that counts. I partner with organizations to improve the performance of their sales associates. My clients and I share in common investing in their greatest resource “their people”. I facilitate motivational training that is fun, unique and creates a positive impact on sales performance. For more information on training sessions or speaking before your group contact me. scudderperformancepartners@gmail.com 615-440-7219

Posted on March 28, 2012, in Sales Training and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Lauren Meagher

    Now this is something I can sink my teeth into. I am honored to follow you and will share your knowledge and insight to my fellow employees. As for me it is useful information. I have always used in my training and speaking engagements the less is more attitude. Keep it simple.

Leave a Reply

