5, 7, 10, or 20 Great Tips!

Wait is it Great Tips or is it Secrets, or wait maybe it is Ideas…well anyway you get the point…it seems like we as experts always come up with 5, 10, 20, and if not it’s lucky #7 or that even dozen #12 when it comes to the grandest of sharing the ways to success.

Just last month I shared the blog “6 Habits of True Strategic Thinkers” that I had read.  Now I’m a bit baffled why the author couldn’t have thought of one more habit or could he not have eliminated a habit after all they can’t all be equally as important – one has to be the weakest of the 6. 

In my personal email today I got one from Linkedin that provided me the link to Forbes “10 Communication Secrets of Great Leaders”, “5 Ways to Determine If Your Communication Style is Hurting Your Career”, and “Bernanke’s 5 Lessons for Business Leaders”.

I wonder if Steven Covey’s “7 Habits of Highly Effective People” would have sold several million less books if he had stopped at 6 habits. Even God settled on 10 with the “10 Commandments”.  I also noticed that a lot of sales trainers are willing to share “FREE” 10 or 20 cold calling secrets on their websites.

OK enough of my rambling about numbers. I’m a big fan of the ONE (1) Best Strategy, Idea, or Tip. We are space and time fillers  by nature and ONE hardly seems to ever be enough! In addition to Plan A we always want plan B, C, D, and E.  Share with me your #1 idea and you have my attention.  You will save me time and I might even remember it days, weeks, months, or years later!

About Richard Scudder

I possess a passion to see others succeed in sales. After 25 years of sales and sales management it is with confidence I say “it is direction, not perfection” that counts. I partner with organizations to improve the performance of their sales associates. My clients and I share in common investing in their greatest resource “their people”. I facilitate motivational training that is fun, unique and creates a positive impact on sales performance. For more information on training sessions or speaking before your group contact me. scudderperformancepartners@gmail.com 615-440-7219

Posted on April 12, 2012, in Sales Training and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

