Experience has been my Greatest Teacher

Before I earned a wage or sold my first anything that resulted in a commission I loved playing sports. That was where I gained my Point Guardfirst understanding of just how important a coach, trainer, or manager could be to helping me achieve goals. It seems natural that my competitive spirit later moved me in the direction of sales, management, and training. However what I came to understand over the years was the place I learned the most when playing sports was on the field, court, and in the gym. Rather it was practice or game day nothing beat the real time actually spent playing and coaching in the heat of the battle. There was no game plan, pregame or halftime speech that could have fully prepared me for the reality of competition. It’s was the right time and place to gain experience, make mistakes, and learn from failure.

Playing point guard in basketball I remember turnovers that caused frustration, cost points and sometimes lost the game. It’s no different in sales. You’re going to make mistakes and those mistakes are going to frustrate you and your customer, cost you money and cost you sales. However it’s those same failures that drive you to practice harder, pay more attention to detail and make remarkable improvements.

As a sales coach and trainer I know those who will ultimately be the most successful are those who learn from their failures and improve on not repeating them. No matter how much has been taught part of the process is let the player go out and play the game; let the sales person make the sales calls. When the game or career is over the coaching will always be valued but the experience will still have been the greatest teacher.

About Richard Scudder

I possess a passion to see others succeed in sales. After 25 years of sales and sales management it is with confidence I say “it is direction, not perfection” that counts. I partner with organizations to improve the performance of their sales associates. My clients and I share in common investing in their greatest resource “their people”. I facilitate motivational training that is fun, unique and creates a positive impact on sales performance. For more information on training sessions or speaking before your group contact me. scudderperformancepartners@gmail.com 615-440-7219

Posted on January 17, 2014, in Inspiration, Sales Training and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

